Liquor Licenses

About Liquor Licenses:

Pursuant to Wyoming State Statutes §12-4-101 through §12-4-702, Counties within the state shall license and regulate, or prohibit, the retail sale of alcoholic and malt beverages within their Counties. There are a number of different licenses that can be applied for. When an application to renew a license, transfer the location where alcohol will be sold, or transfer ownership of a license is received by the Clerk's Office, notice will placed upon the premises shown by the application as the proposed place of sale, a notice will also be published in a newspaper of local circulation for two consecutive weeks, and a notice will also be posted on the official website of the County. 

Below is an explanation for each type of license and how many are permitted to be issued by Platte County:

24-Hour Malt Beverage Permit (W.S.S. §12-4-502):

Platte County is authorized to issue a 24-hour permit to sell malt beverages. Alcoholic liquor is prohibited from being sold while dispensing liquor under the authority of a malt beverage permit. In order to qualify for a malt beverage permit, an applicant does not need to hold a retail liquor license. These malt beverage permits may be issued to, "any responsible person or organization for sales at a picnic, bazaar, fair, rodeo, special holiday or similar public gathering." (W.S.S. §12-4-502(a)). These permits are only valid for a period of 24-hour hours. However, if an event is multiple days long only one application is required. Platte County currently charges $25.00 per day for 24-hour malt beverage permits. To apply for a 24-hour malt beverage permit please look for the appropriate application under the Clerk's Office Forms and return that form to the Platte County Clerk's Office (PO Box 728, Wheatland).

24-Hour Catering Permit (W.S.S. §12-4-502):

Licensees of a 24-hour catering permit are authorized to sell malt beverages and alcoholic liquors. In order to qualify for a catering permit, an applicant must hold a retail liquor license. That retail liquor license may be issued by any authorized licensing agency within the State of Wyoming. When applying for a catering permit, applicants will need to show a copy of their current retail liquor license, they will need to present written authorization from their licensing authority if that authority is not Platte County, and they will need written permission from the landowner where the event will be held. The purpose of these licenses is to permit the sale of alcoholic and malt beverages for meetings, conventions, private parties and dinners or at other simlar gatherings not capable of being held within the licensee's licensed premises. Platte County currently charges $25.00 per day for 24-hour catering permits. To apply for a 24-hour catering permit please look for the appropriate application under the Clerk's Office Forms and return that form to the Platte County Clerk's Office (PO Box 728, Wheatland).

Retail Licenses (W.S.S. §12-4-201):

A retail liquor license is the authority under which a licensee is permitted to sell alcoholic liquor or malt beverages for use or consumption. A retail liquor license allows a licensee to sell package liquor as well as alcohol for consumption at the time of sale. These licenses are granted based on population limits. Each town within the County is granted at least two retail liquor licenses. The county itself is granted one retail liquor licenses for every 500 residents outside of cities and towns. Therefore, Platte County has been granted six (6) retail liquor licenses. At this time all six of those licenses are issued. These licenses are renewed annually and are effective between April 1 and March 31st. The fee for a retail liquor license is $800.00 annualy, unless the location where alcohol will be sold is within five miles of any incorporated town. In that instance Platte County charges the same for a retail liquor license as that municipality. To apply for a retail liquor license, or apply to transfer that license, please look for the appropriate application under the Clerk's Office Forms and return that form to the Platte County Clerk's Office (PO Box 728, Wheatland).

For 2020 - 2021, those six retail liquor licenses have been granted to:

Malt Beverage Permits (W.S.S. §12-4-201(f)):

Counties are permitted to issue a malt beverage permit outside any incorporated town. This permit is the authority under which the licensee is permitted to sell malt beverages only. There is no limit on the number of Malt Beverage Permits that a County is permitted to issue. However, the establishment must be at least five (5) miles outside of an incorporated town. The fee for a malt beverage permit is $200, annually. Currently, Platte County has two Malt Beverage Permits that have been issued. Those permits have been issued to Guernsey Mercantile (dba: Guernsey Mercantile), Building 801 Camp Guernsey, Guernsey and Canyon Vineyard, 4681 Highway 34, Wheatland.  To apply for a malt beverage permit, please look for the appropriate application under the Clerk's Office Forms and return that form to the Platte County Clerk's Office (PO Box 728, Wheatland).

Special Club Licenses (W.S.S. §12-4-301):

Club licenses are granted to bona fide clubs as defined by W.S.S. §12-1-101(a)(iii). At least 51% of the club's membership is required to sign a petition indicating their desire to secure a limited retail liquor license. If approved, these clubs are then permitted to sell alcoholic liquor or malt beverages for consumption anywhere on the licensed premises. Consumption is limited to club members and their approved guests (as approved by the licensing authority). There is no limit on the number of special club liquor licenses that can be granted. Currently, Platte County has no club licenses issued. To apply for a special club license, please look for the appropriate application under the Clerk's Office Forms and return that form to the Platte County Clerk's Office (PO Box 728, Wheatland).

Restaurant Liquor Licenses (W.S.S. §12-4-407):

Restaurants, as defined by W.S.S. §12-1-101(a)(xiv), may be issued a restaurant liquor license. There is no limit on the number of restaurant liquor licenses that can be granted. However, when it is time to renew a restaurant liquor license an applicant must show that at lest 60% of gross sales from the preceding 12 months of operating with a restaurant liquor license was derived from food service. There are a number of regulations and restrictions regarding the dispensing of liquor, and other certain activities, that are associated with restaurant licenses. Those restrictions are found in W.S.S. §12-4-410. To apply for a restaurant liquor license, please look for the appropriate application under the Clerk's Office Forms and return that form to the Platte County Clerk's Office (PO Box 728, Wheatland). A valid food service permit is also required for this type of application.

Microbrewery & Winery Permits (W.S.S. §12-4-412):

Microbrewery and winery permits allow permit holders to brew a malt beverage or wine and dispense that alcohol for on-premises and limited off-premises personal consumption. If a licensee holds a microbrewery or winery permit, that licensee is allowed to also hold a retail, resort, or bar and grill liquor license as well. Platte County is authorized to issue six microbrewery and six winery permits outside of any incorporated town. At this time Platte County has not issued a microbrewery permit nor a winery permit. To apply for a microbrewery or winery permit, please look for the appropriate application under the Clerk's Office Forms and return that form to the Platte County Clerk's Office (PO Box 728, Wheatland).

Bar & Grill Liquor Licenses (W.S.S. §12-4-413):

Bar and grill liquor licenses are very similar to restaurant liquor licenses. For instance, a bar and grill liquor licensee is still required to show that at least 60% of gross sales from the preceding 12 months of operating with a restaurant liquor license was derived from food service. The only real difference between the two licenses is that a bar and grill licensee is permitted to have a lunge and that drinks must be dispensed from a "room" separate from the dining room. Bar and grill licenses are granted based on population. Counties are permitted to issue one bar and grill license for every 7,500 citizens residing outside of incorporated towns. Therefore, Platte County is not permitted to issue any bar and grill licenses at this time as Platte County does not have more than 7,500 citizens residing outside of the five municipalities.

For more information about liquor licensing please visit the Wyoming Liquor Division website.