The County Treasurer is responsible for vehicle registrations. Below you will find information about types of registrations, how registrations are calculated, and documents needed for different registrations.
Who must register?
Registration is generally required for any vehicle owned or operated in this state by a resident, and not otherwise exempted by law. Non-residents are generally not required to secure or display Wyoming registration, unless their vehicles are being used for gain or profit (see nonresidents under exemptions). Since a key requirement is residency, it is important to understand how it is defined within Title 31.
Residents include the following:
When is registration required?
The time requirement for registration varies depending on resident status, prior ownership, and the entity from whom a new vehicle was purchased.
For vehicles already owned by the individual, company or organization, registration is required before the end of their annual registration month. In the case of a new purchase (new to the owner, not implying a new vehicle), the required registration time is either within 30 or 45 days of the date of purchase, according to these conditions:
For vehicles already owned by the individual, company or organization, registration is required immediately upon meeting the residency definition. In the case of a new purchase, the same rules as residents would apply if they meet the residency definition, or if registration is not secured in their home state within the required time frames.
If you have moved to Wyoming from a state that we have reciprocity AND your out of state plates are not expired, you are not required to register in Wyoming until the out of state plates expire.
As of July 1, 2008, WYDOT verified that the following states have full reciprocity agreements with Wyoming:
As of July 1, 2008, WYDOT verified that the following states have daily commuter reciprocity with Wyoming:
Replacement of License Plates
If a license plate is lost, stolen or damaged, you may apply for a replacement plate. The cost is $8.00. If you want the same plate number that you had, we can re-order it for $30.00. That process takes 4-6 weeks. We can issue you a plate off the shelf to use until the new one comes in. If you don't care what number you have, we will just issue you a new plate off the shelf.
Replacement of Validation Stickers
If a set of stickers are lost, you may purchase a replacement set for $6.00.
Duplicate Certificate of Registration
Additional copies of your vehicle registration are available upon request.
What do I need to bring in with me?
Renewal of a Wyoming License Plate