Registration Fees

Registration Fees

Registration renewals can be paid online!

You can pay your license renewal online here.

How are the fees calculated?

Prices for registrations are determined by Wyoming State Statutes, so a vehicle will cost the same amount to register regardless of where in Wyoming the registration is issued. Registration fees are broken down into two parts: County fee (based on vehicle value) and State Fee (based on the weight or the type of vehicle).

County fees are calculated using the formula below:

  • (Factory Price) X (Year of Service Rate) X (.03) = County Fee

The year of service rate is determined as follows:

  • 1st year: 60%
  • 2nd year: 50%
  • 3rd year: 40%
  • 4th year: 30%
  • 5th year: 20%
  • 6th year and above: 15%

For example: A new vehicle is in its first year of service so it is taxed at a rate of 60% whereas a used vehicle in its second year of service would be taxed at a rate of 50%, and so on. The calculation for a used vehicle in its third year of service with a factory price of $20,000 would be:

  • ($20000) X (40%) X (.03) = $240.00

The state fee depends on the vehicle type:

  • Passenger Vehicles = $30.00
  • Trucks & trailers = $5.00 - $90.00 depending on weight
  • Buses = $30.00 - $90.00 depending on weight
  • Motorcycles = $25.00
  • Commercial Vehicles = $80.00 - $1,400.00 depending on weight

Contact Information for the Platte County Treasurer's Office - Phone: (307) 322-2092   Fax:(307) 322-1340    Email: krietz@plattecountywyoming.com

                                                                                         Office Hours: 6:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday